IPA Regions



Chairman: Aine Donnelly
Secretary: Christopher Verling

County Tipperary is the 6th largest County in Ireland and is referred to as the Premier County. It nestles within the Golden Vale, the most fertile land in the country.

Bordering the South and South West are the Comeragh, Knockmealdown and Galtee mountains (Galteemore at 919m is the 3rd highest peak in the Emerald Isle). Being an inland County in the Mid-South, it is surrounded by eight others, Offaly, Laois, Kilkenny, Waterford, Cork, Limerick, Clare and Galway, with the latter three separated by the river Shannon.

The Arra hills and Silvermine Mountains cross it's northern territory. Prior to June 2014, the County had two Co. Councils, North and South Riding which have now merged.

Clonmel in the South, by the side of the river Suir and in the shadow of Slievenamon (721m) is the County town. Tipperary was the subject of the famous war time song " It's a long way to Tipperary ", popular with the regiments of the British Army, during WW1. Tipperary is to the fore in sporting history, being home to Coolmore Stud near Fethard, our own world standard horse breeding industry and located alongside the homestead from which the Australian bushranger, Ned Kelly's father, John was deported to Australia for stealing two pigs, in 1841.

The Gaelic Athletic Association was founded in Thurles in 1884. The Garda Training College has been located in Templemore since 1964. Tourist attractions are numerous, including The Rock of Cashel and Lough Derg on the banks of the Shannon. Tipperary Region will be known as the Slievenamon Region, having been adopted by the South of the county in 1992, when part of the now defunct, Region No. 9. Why not pay us a visit, you'll be really glad you came.

IPA Ireland Regions

To find out about your nearest Region, please select a Region number below.